Lavender fields and vanilla honey lavendar cookies

lavender_field_1

This weekend, the Mr. and I grabbed a couple of friends and went on a little adventure. Near our home is a beautiful place that grows lavender. They opened up for the weekend and hosted a little festival that was all sorts of fun. We walked through the beautiful fields, drank lavender mojitos, wandered through lines of venders and listened to live music. We drove up almost into the mountains, and they provided a beautiful backdrop for the fields. Also, there was no shortage of old ladies dressed from head to toe in lavender, which made for some giggles.

lavender_bundleslavender was sold by the bundle. The fields were gorgeous and when a breeze came through, the smell of lavender tickled your nose…even if you weren’t in the field. Heaven, I tell you.

boy_with_banana

…this little guy kept us entertained. That’s the face he makes when you tell him to smile.

The smell and taste of lavender inspired me to invent a little shortbread cookie featuring honey, vanilla and lavender.A little bit of lavender goes a long way. It’s not the kind of thing you want all alone. Lavender is very floral and potent and tastes exactly the way it smells. This isn’t a bad thing, it smells amazing. A little bit to tickle your nose and tongue is absolutely satisfying.

vanilla_lavender_honey_cookie1

These cookies look and taste very fancy. However, they are pretty simple to make. They don’t demand many ingredients or hours of labor. A few stirs and a bit of ingredient prep leads you to beautiful, delicate and flavorful bites.

honey_vanilla_lavender_cookie2

These cookies are everything you love about shortbread. They contain rice flour, which makes the cookies melt when they touch your tongue.

lavender_vanilla_honey_cookie3

My favorite trick to making these cookies is grinding the vanilla beans. I used my (clean) coffee grinder to whiz them up. Doing this makes the pieces tiny and flavorful, and you are able to use the whole bean instead of just the inside parts. Honey is the liquid that brings the dry ingredients together. I can’t help but have a little spoonful for myself….I love honey.

vanilla_honey_lavender_cookie

These are best served over a cup of tea across from a new friend. And tell me your thoughts–what are your favorite things to do with lavender?

Vanilla Honey Lavender Shortbread Cookies

Recipe:

(inspired by these)

For the cookie:

2 vanilla beans (get the plump ones!)

3 Tablespoons honey (I prefer raw–it has a strong flavor)

A pinch of salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature

1 cup rice flour

1/2 cup corn starch

A bit of white flour for dusting counter and rolling out

For the topping:

About 1/8 cup honey for drizzling

2-3 Tablespoons dried lavender

Grind vanilla beans in coffee grinder until the vanilla is just little tiny freckles. Scrape out with small spatula into large mixing bowl. Mix in honey, salt and butter until well incorporated. Stir in rice flour and corn flour until well incorporated.

Smoosh into a ball and put on a lightly floured counter. Roll out until about 1/8 inch thick. Use a cookie cutter to cut into desired shapes and place on parchment lined baking sheet. Place in the refrigerator for at least 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.

Place cookies into oven and bake for 12-15 minutes until they are slightly brown on the edges.

Let cookies cool for about 30 minutes (it will help your honey look pretty and drizzle nice instead of melting into a pool–I didn’t wait…)

Drizzle with honey and sprinkle just a few lavender pieces on each cookie.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Lavender fields and vanilla honey lavendar cookies

  1. WOW. I am crazy about these cookies. I used my magic bullet to grind the vanilla beans which worked very well. I am greedy about lavender so I ground about 2 teaspoons up and added it to the dough — I was worried this would make my cookies taste like soap but thankfully I was wrong. The extra bit of lavender added just what I wanted & I highly recommend this adaptation! Thanks for sharing! I appreciate how these cookies are so simply gluten free!

Leave a Reply

