Peanut Butter Experiments

DSC_2715 Peanut butter is one of my favorite inventions. It improves any snack and gets rid of hunger in a hurry! My husband has been known to put it atop any and every muffin, and my grandpa (Pop) loves it on everything. For his birthday, I made him a peanut butter cake (with peanut butter frosting), and he slathered peanut butter all over the top. Needless to say, we are peanut butter people.

homemade_peanut_butter_2

I decided to try and make it myself. It was quite easy, really, and there are so many different directions to go with peanut butter experiments.  Alton Brown likes to add honey and peanut oil, which I’m sure is absolutely amazing, but I was at home not really wanting to leave. And I don’t have peanut oil on hand. I do have honey, but I decided to start simply with just peanuts, canola oil and salt.

homemade_peanut_butter_3

I just dumped peanuts, salt and a bit of oil into the blender. It was that simple. When it wouldn’t blend any more, I added a bit more oil to get everything going. If you were to use a food processor, you probably wouldn’t need as much oil. Blenders have to have some sort of liquid to keep everything moving, so I just trickled oil.

homemade_peanut_butter_4

I may never buy peanut butter again. It’s SO good. It can be made crunchy or creamy, salty or plain, honey-ed or not! It has a strong peanut flavor with the perfect amount of stick-to-your-mouth texture that makes you want to smear it all over everything you eat! Put it in that glass jar you’ve been saving. High-five yourself. You just made peanut butter.

homemade_peanut_butter_5

Recipe:

I’m giving you basic ingredients to play around with as I did–in other words, experiment! Play with each ingredient until the peanut butter is exactly the way YOU like it! Give peanut butter as a little gift! Spread it all over toast and apples and bananas and muffins…need I say more?

Ingredients:

your favorite peanuts, dry roasted and unsalted (I purchased some that had already been shelled, but feel free to shell your own)

sea salt

canola or peanut oil

a bit of honey

a pinch of adventure

Blend together, taste and tweak!

Keeps in the refrigerator for around 4 weeks…if it stays around that long!

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Experiments

  1. Peanut butter is one of my new favorite things to make. The process for me includes a Pennsylvania-Dutch style meat grinder, food processor, and a Kitchen-Aid. The whole shebang takes me awhile, but I think it is quite cathartic. I love how you can control the sweetness, the saltiness, the viscosity, etc. Throw some almonds, cashews and walnuts in next time!

Leave a Reply

